Thematic Programs

International Workshop : Spintronics
(13th RIEC International Workshop on Spintronics)



November 18, 2015 – November 20, 2015


Conference Room, Laboratory for Nanoelectronics and Spintronics, Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University [Access]

Workshop description

This workshop will cover a wide range of recent progress in spintronics, from fundamental physics to devices for applications. Top researchers from all over the world are invited to present a comprehensive overview of what is happening in this field.

Workshop Poster

– Download [PDF]

Workshop Program

Confirmed invited speakers

  • Johan Åkerman (University of Gothenburg)
  • David Awschalom (University of Chicago)
  • Geoffrey Beach (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Tomasz Dietl (Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Claudia Felser (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids)
  • Shunsuke Fukami (Tohoku University)
  • Julie Grollier (Université Paris–Sud)
  • Masamitsu Hayashi (National Institute for Materials Science)
  • Burkard Hillebrands (TU Kaiserslautern)
  • Masashi Kawasaki (University of Tokyo)
  • Charles Lambert (Université de Lorraine)
  • Aurélien Manchon (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology)
  • Shigemi Mizukami (Tohoku University)
  • Teruo Ono (Kyoto University)
  • Mikihiko Oogane (Tohoku University)
  • Stuart Parkin (IBM)
  • Masafumi Shirai (Tohoku University)
  • Andrei Slavin (Oakland University)
  • Gen Tatara (RIKEN)
  • Kang Wang (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Dieter Weiss (Universität Regensburg)
  • Masafumi Yamamoto (Hokkaido University)


The workshop is free of charge. Those who want to participate in the workshop should register from the registration system by October 16 (Fri.).


Banquet will be held on the evening of November 19 (Thu.). The fee is 5,000 JPY. The participant who wants to join the banquet also needs registration from the registration system.

Poster session

Poster session will be held on the afternoon of November 19 (Thu.). We will provide boards for B1 size (728 mm width x 1030 mm height) and push–pins to hang posters. The participant who wants to have a poster presentation is required to submit one page abstract by October 2 (Fri.) to hsato* (change * to @)
Format is here.

Committee and Secretariat

Committee: H. Ohno, Y. Ando, G. E. W. Bauer, Y. Hirayama, J. Nitta, K. Takanashi, F. Matsukura
Local staffs: H. Sato, S. Fukami and S. Kanai
Secretariat: N. Sato, Y. Jidai


Hideo Ohno
(Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University)

Time Schedule

Wednesday, November 18
08:15 – 09:00
09:00 – 09:15
Hideo Ohno (Organizer, Tohoku University)
09:15 – 10:00
Stuart Parkin (Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Martin Luther University Halle–Wittenberg)
Racetrack Memory: ready for take–off!
10:00 – 10:20
Gen Tatara (RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science)
Spin electromagnetic field induced by Rashba interaction  Video
10:20 – 10:50
10:50 – 11:20
Aurelien Manchon (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology)
Spin–Orbit Torques in Novel Materials  Video
11:20 – 11:40
Mikihiko Oogane (Tohoku University)
Tunnel magneto resistance effect in MTJs with Mn–based ordered alloys  Video
11:40 – 11:50
11:50 – 14:00
14:00 – 14:30
Burkard Hillebrands (Technische Universität Kaiserslautern)
Novel transport phenomena using magnonic Bose–Einstein condensates  Video
14:30 – 14:50
Shigemi Mizukami(Tohoku University)
Laser–induced spin–wave propagation in magnetic films
14:50 – 15:20
Johan Åkerman (University of Gothenburg, KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
Topological and non–topological dynamical solitons in spin torque and spin hall effect driven nano–oscillators
15:20 – 15:50
15:50 – 16:20
Claudia Felser (Max Planck Institute Chemical Physics of Solids)
Magnetism in Mn–rich Heusler compounds  Video
16:20 – 16:40
Masafumi Yamamoto (Hokkaido University)
Half–metallic Heusler alloys as spin sources of spintronic devices
16:40 – 17:00
Masafumi Shirai (Tohoku University)
Electronic Structure at Interfaces between Heusler alloys and MgO  Video
Thursday, November 19
09:00 – 09:45
David Awschalom (University of Chicago)
Quantum Technologies Based on Spins in Semiconductors
09:45 – 10:15
Dieter Weiss (University of Regensburg)
Transport and magnetocapacitance in HgTe–based topological insulators
10:15 – 10:45
10:45 – 11:15
Kang L. Wang (University of California, Los Angeles)
Topological Insulators: Quantum Anomalous Hall and Spintronics  Video
11:15 – 11:35
Shunsuke Fukami (Tohoku University)
Spin–orbit torque switching for three–terminal spintronics devices
11:35 – 11:55
Teruo Ono(Kyoto University)
Orbital Magnetism on the Dzyaloshinskii–Moriya Interaction
11:55 – 14:00
14:00 – 14:30
Andrei Slavin (Oakland University)
Mechanism of a spin current transformation in an antiferromagnetic insulator  Video
14:30 – 15:00
Tomasz Dietl (Polish Academy of Sciences, University of Warsaw, Tohoku University)
Spin–spin interactions in topological materials doped with transition metals  Video
15:00 – 15:30
Masashi Kawasaki (University of Tokyo)
Quantum Anomalous Hall Effect in Topological Insulator Heterostructures
15:30 – 17:30
Poster Session
17:30 – 18:00
18:00 – 20:00
Friday, November 20
09:00 – 09:30
Geoffrey Beach (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Spin orbit torques and chiral spin textures in ultrathin magnetic films
09:30 – 09:50
Masamitsu Hayashi (National Institute for Materials Science)
Electrically and thermally generated spin current in heavy metals
09:50 – 10:20
10:20 – 10:50
Charles Lambert (Université de Lorraine)
All–Optical Helicity–Dependent Switching in Spintronic Devices  Video
10:50 – 11:20
Julie Grollier (Universite Paris Sud)
Nanodevices for bio–inspired computing  Video
11:20 – 11:35